- original music and arrangements -

Nikolai's Lament

derived from Rimsky-Korsakov's Scheherazade

The simple composition is based on the Third Movement of Rimsky-Korsakov's Scheherazade: "The Young Prince and The Young Princess". Its a breathtakingly beautiful piece of music. My arrangement is a simplified version featuring the trombone and acoustic piano. Acoustic bass and strings are added as well. The extended vamp at the end is a simple F-G-Bbm chord progression over a pedal F.

If you are not familiar with the orchestral piece or the poignant storyline, please give a listen and read the info on the links below - this is a classic!

Credit: Scheherazade and Sultan painting by A. Luschenko

About Scheherazade
Russian composer Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov wrote his symphonic suite, Scheherazade, in 1888.
Based on the Persian collection of stories: One Thousand and One Nights, Scheherazade is a symphonic suite of four related movements that form a unified theme. It is an immensely popular orchestral piece and very often performed.